Competency Framework

The 3 types of competency that credential holders will be required to demonstrate are:
1. Integrative Competencies
2. Professional Competencies
3. Cross-Disciplinary Knowledge

What differentiates a CBA® from other professionals?

1. Integrative Competencies

Integrative competencies represent the true differentiation of the CBA® professional. These competencies are the hallmark of the CBA®, representing his/her capacity to envision, strategize, conceptualize and innovate. They signify the CBA’s ability to combine knowledge from many sources, often in novel ways, to create economic value.
• Creating & Leveraging Knowledge
• Knowledge
• Systemic Thinking
• Future Focus
• Strategic Thinking
• Innovation
• Conceptual Skills
• Global Perspective

2. Professional Competencies

Professional competencies may be thought of as “enablers” of the credential holder. They include a suite of skills, capabilities and attributes that allow the CBA® to be effective and productive. Without professional competencies, the CBA® would be unable to translate ideas into action or bring influence to bear on the business challenges facing companies and individuals.
• Entrepreneurial Orientation
• Stakeholder Focus
• External Perspective
• Analytical Prowess
• Organizational Insight
• Networking & Resourcing
• Recognized Expertise
• Impactful Communication
• Compelling Influence
• Dedication to Excellence
• Lifelong Learning

3. Cross-Disciplinary Knowledge

Most professionals have a solid knowledge base in the principles, standards and practices of their particular field or discipline. The CBA® credential differs from other credentials in that it requires a broad and interdisciplinary portfolio of business knowledge and functional expertise. While the CBA® professional is not expected to be an expert in each content area, he/she offers an understanding of concepts, practices, implications and inter-relationships among multiple business disciplines such as: Accountancy, Business Law and Business Planning.